Seminars 2019

From Applied Optics Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

OPG Seminars 2019

1st Term
Date Time Location Seminar Presenter Title
Wed 13 Feb 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Guest seminar Luke Cox An introduction to low cost acoustic levitation and manipulation
Wed 20 Feb 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar Tania Mendonca Light sheet microscopy for visualising multiscale cellular interactions
Wed 27 Feb 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Guest Seminar Francesco Chiavaioli Resonance-based fibre-optic sensing: from fundamentals to real applications
Wed 06 Mar 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar Meisam Askari Multimaterial manufacture by combining optical tweezers with multiphoton fabrication
Wed 13 Mar 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar James Bradbury Monitoring oxygen muscle saturation using photonic textiles
Wed 20 Mar 2019 13:00 203 Tower building OPG showcase selection All PhD students 1st year PhDs - 1 minute slide presentations

2nd year PhDs - Poster competition

Final year PhDs - 3 minute thesis pitch

Wed 27 Mar 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar Mel Mather Quantum sensing in biology using nitrogen vacancy defects in diamond
Wed 03 Apr 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar Sándor Erdődy Measurements of nutrients in water using optical fibre sensors
Tues 09 Apr 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Guest Seminar Ji Qi Polarisation resolved surgical endoscopy
2nd Term
Date Time Location Seminar Presenter Title
Wed 08 May 2019 13:00 203 Tower building - Cancelled -
Thu 09 May 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Guest Seminar Simon Ameer-Beg Protein-protein interactions at the cellular interface: Biophotonics approaches to quantitative FRET measurements
Wed 15 May 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar Matt Clark Ray tracing in an acoustic metamaterial
Wed 22 May 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar Hamed Pezeshki Development of plasmonic-based devices with applications in bio-engineering and photonic integrated circuits
Wed 29 May 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar Chenyang He Multiple sensing for relative humidity and temperature based on optical fibres for sports and healthcare
Wed 05 Jun 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Seminar Wenqi Li Spatially resolved acoustic spectroscopy (SRAS): an NDE technique for materials characterisation based on laser ultrasonics
Tues 11 Jun 2019 13:00 203 Tower building Guest Seminar Izzy Jayasinghe Adapting the next generation of super-resolution microscopy tools for biomedical imaging at the true molecular scale
3rd Term
Date Time Location Seminar Presenter Title
Mon 8 Jul 2019 13:00 B14 ESLC building Guest Seminar Samuel Powell Image reconstruction for novel diffuse optical and hybrid imaging modalities using stochastic forward models
Wed 24 Jul 2019 13:00 B21 Physics building Guest Seminar Ruchi Gupta Optical biosensors
Fri 13 Sept 2019 13:00 C15 Chemistry building Guest Seminar Mitchell Guy Kenney From absorbers to lenses: designing highly-efficient metasurfaces