Talks 2017

From Applied Optics Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

AOG Seminars 2017

We are actively looking for people who wish to give talks, or to volunteer others to give talks to the group, either from within or from external institutions. This gives participants a good opportunity to present their work, which could lead to collaboration with others in the group as well as gaining valuable feedback from members.

Seminars can be given as either a Short Talk (10-20 minutes) or Standard Talk (25-45 minutes).

1st Term
Date Time Location Seminar Presenter Title
Thurs 2 Feb 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Guest talk Dr Rong Su On tilt and curvature dependent errors and the calibration of coherence scanning interferometry
Mon 6 Feb 2017 12:00 C15 Pope building Guest talk Dr Shugang Liu A complex optical system built with the new mul-axis microbench
Thurs 16 Feb 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Short talk Aishah Mustapha An optical trapping approach for probing and modulating the mechanical properties of model cells
Short talk Nutthawut Suchato Ultrasonic instrumentation for automated assessment of corrosion in sea vessels
Thurs 23 Feb 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Talk Sergiy Korposh Optical fibre sensors for biomedical applications
Thurs 2 Mar 2017 12:00 C17 Pope building Guest Talk Dr Frankie Rawson TBC
Thurs 9 Mar 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Show Case Selection All students -
Thurs 16 Mar 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Guest talk Dr Teti Stratoudaki TBC
Thurs 23 Mar 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Guest Talk Dr Elena Alonso Redondo TBC
Thurs 30 Mar 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Talk Pieter Smid TBC
Thurs 6 Apr 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -

2nd Term
Date Time Location Seminar Presenter Title
Thurs 27 Apr 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -
Thurs 4 May 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -
Thurs 11 May 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -
Thurs 18 May 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -
Thurs 25 May 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -
Thurs 1 Jun 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Talk Nicholas Wells TBC
Thurs 8 Jun 2017 12:00 203 Tower building free - -
Thurs 15 Jun 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Talk Ricardo Goncalves Correia Development of fibre Bragg grating sensors for health care applications
Thurs 22 Jun 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -