Talks 2017

From Applied Optics Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

OPG Seminars 2017

We are actively looking for people who wish to give talks, or to volunteer others to give talks to the group, either from within or from external institutions. This gives participants a good opportunity to present their work, which could lead to collaboration with others in the group as well as gaining valuable feedback from members.

Seminars can be given as either a Short Talk (10-20 minutes) or Standard Talk (25-45 minutes).

1st Term
Date Time Location Seminar Presenter Title
Thurs 2 Feb 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Guest talk Dr Rong Su On tilt and curvature dependent errors and the calibration of coherence scanning interferometry
Mon 6 Feb 2017 12:00 C15 Pope building Guest talk Dr Shugang Liu A complex optical system built with the new mul-axis microbench
Thurs 16 Feb 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Short talk Aishah Mustapha An optical trapping approach for probing and modulating the mechanical properties of model cells
Short talk Nutthawut Suchato Ultrasonic instrumentation for automated assessment of corrosion in sea vessels
Thurs 23 Feb 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Talk Sergiy Korposh Optical fibre sensors for biomedical applications
Thurs 2 Mar 2017 12:00 C17 Pope building Guest talk Dr Frankie J Rawson Cellular electron transfer: a new direction in bioelectronics
Thurs 9 Mar 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Showcase selection All PhD students 1st year PhDs - 1 minute slide presentations

2nd year PhDs - Poster competition

Final year PhDs - 3 minute thesis pitch

Thurs 16 Mar 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Guest talk Dr Theodosia Stratoudaki Laser induced phased arrays
Tues 21 Mar 2017 - Cancelled - - -
Thurs 23 Mar 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Guest talk Dr Elena Alonso-Redondo Tunable hypersonic phononic crystals based on brush-particle assemblies: influence of topology
Thurs 30 Mar 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Short talk Pieter Smid Aberration correction in confocal microscopy using adaptive optics
Short talk Paul Dryburgh Developing in-situ inspection of selective laser melting components

2nd Term
Date Time Location Seminar Presenter Title
Thurs 4 May 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Talk Rafael Fuentes An overview of plasmonic nanoparticles in picosecond laser ultrasound: a possible way to super-resolution?
Thurs 11 May 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Short talk Chong Liu A fibre optics textile based sensor for physiological monitoring
Short talk Don Milesh Pieris TBC
Thurs 18 May 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -
Thurs 25 May 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -
Thurs 1 Jun 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Talk Nicholas Wells TBC
Thurs 8 Jun 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -
Thurs 15 Jun 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Talk Ricardo Goncalves Correia Development of fibre Bragg grating sensors for health care applications
Thurs 22 Jun 2017 12:00 203 Tower building Free - -